Connect with us


Marcelo Woloski: Mundo Por Conocer



Marcelo Woloski

Marcelo WoloskiOn the contrary whip smart, unpredictable and open to crazy ideas – “Agua”, played on (among other instruments) a water jar as it is being filled and then some is an inspired example. Mr. Woloski it seems will stop at nothing to communicate with music. He plays more than twenty kinds of percussion instruments and it is not simply this battery of musical apparatuses that matters, but the texturally brilliant song that he gets out of them, especially when caresses with anything from the fingers of his hands to African brooms. Throughout Marcelo Woloski makes music that is sonically immaculate as he creates his euphonious tones artfully leavening his logical, but nonetheless oblique and unpredictable melodic thinking. To find just this in its most unfettered form, simply listen to “Maracatu” and you will be amazed at how the melody of Brasil can be inventively recreated in a frenzy of drums.

Track list – 1: Mundo Por Conocer; 2: Milonguita pa’la Griega; 3: Hace Tiempo; 4: Lejos; 5: Partida; 6: Paz; 7: Cachorinho de Susinha; 8: Agua; 9: El Otro; 10: Océano; 11: Maracatu; 12: Sonrisa

Personnel – Marcelo Woloski: percussion set-up: cajón, congas, timbau, snare drums, pandeiro, djembe, water jar, hadjira, udu drum, bombo legüero, whistle, claps, effects, reco-reco, agogô, rebolo, tamborim, triangle, angklung, African brooms, vocals, laughs; Magda Giannikou: accordion (2, 4, 6, 9, 10), vocals (1, 6, 12), glockenspiel (3), laughs (112); Andrés Rotmistrovsky: electric bass; Petros Klampinas: contrabass (2, 10); Eleonora Bianchini: lead vocals (1, 4, 9); Sofia Ribeiro: lead vocals (10), background vocals (1, 4, 12), and laughs; Juan Andrés Ospina: piano (2, 7), background vocals (3, 7, 12) and laughs; Sebastián Kauderer: piano (10); Jim Funnell: piano (9); Justin Stanton: Fender Rhodes and Hammond B3 organ (6, 12), Vitor Gonçalves: piano (1, 2), accordion (7); Michael League: baritone and acoustic guitars (3, 6, 12); Ricardo Vogt: nylon string guitar (6, 7); Eric Kurimski: nylon string guitar (4); Ignacio Hernández: Spanish guitar (2); Maeve Gilchrist: harp (4, 10); Keita Ogawa: snare drum, alfaia, agogô, claps and angklung (11); Nate Werth: snare drum, Colombian tambora, agogô (11); Hadar Noiberg: flute and piccolo flute (2, 7); Chris Bullock: tenor saxophone and bass clarinet (6, 10, 12); Matt McLaughlin: French horn (1, 6, 10, 12); Mike Maher: trumpet (1, 6, 10, 12) and flugelhorn; Achilles Liarmakopoulos: trombone (1, 6, 7, 10, 12); The String Section – Curtis Stewart: violin (solo on 2), Maria Im: violin, Dana Lyn: viola; Maria Jeffers: cello

Released – 2018
Label – Independent
Runtime – 35:24

Pages: 1 2 3

Based in Milton, Ontario, Canada, Raul is a poet, musician and an accomplished critic whose profound analysis is reinforced by his deep understanding of music, technically as well as historically.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Recommended Posts